Round 2: Road to the Championship Top 16 Round by Round Blog

Posted on

Round 2: Road to the Championship at Road Atlanta is about to begin. Opening ceremonies just got underway.

Top 16 Coverage

Foust vs Gushi. The battle of the Scions. Foust pulls away leading Gushi, but Gushi catches up in the horseshoe as Foust leaves a thick cloud of smoke. Gushi leads the 2nd run, Foust pulls door to door with Gushi and towards the last clipping point Foust gets aggressive and pulls close to Gushi…they hit. Gushi spins. Judges deliberate and watch the instant replay. Ken Gushi gets the win.

Forsberg vs Hubinette – Forsberg leads and Hubinette chases really tight and stays close through the first run. Hubinette leads and now Forsberg shadows…Hubinette pulls away after the horseshoe. Too close to call. One More Time.

OMT – Run 1 – Forsberg leads and Hubinette shadows and keeps tight. Hubinette spins in the horseshoe. Hubinette leads and Forsberg chases tight through the entire run. Forsberg moves on to the Great 8.

Yoshihara vs Mordaunt – Dai leads and Mordaunt goes hot into the dirt on the first sweeper. Dai has the advantage going into the 2nd run. Mordaunt leads and Dai follows. Clean run. Dai advances.

Millen vs McNamara – Millen leads and McNamara sticks to Millen, but a little shallower line. Good run by both drivers. DMac leads and Millen chases…first turn collision. Judges watch the instant replay to see what happened. Did Millen go in to hot? Or did DMac slow down dramatically? McNamara gets the win.

Tuerck vs Petty – Tuerck leads and Petty chases. Both with good angle and good line sticking close to one another. Great run. Petty leads and Tuerck sticks close. Another good run by both. This will be a close call. Tuerck moves on.

Gittin vs Maeng – Gittin leads and Maeng chases and sticks close through the horseshoe. Great run. Maeng leads and corrects on the first clipping point, Gittin close. Gittin moves on.

Grunewald vs Pawlak – Grunewald leads and Pawlak follows. Both with mistakes. Pawlak mistake on entry and Grunewald goes wide in the horseshoe. Pawlak leads and creates a gap that Grunewald can’t catch up to on Run 2. Pawlak’s mistake on the first run could not be made up. Grunewald wins.

Essa vs Nishida – Essa leads and has a great run until the end. Nishida with a solid run. Nishida leads and loses grip and straightens up on first turn. Essa moves on.

Round 2: Road to the Championship Top 32 Round by Round Blog

Posted on

Foust vs Waldin – Waldin’s blows out his motor on the first run and Foust moves on to the next round.

Ng vs Gushi – Ng on first run takes it into the wall on the first turn and Gushi takes 2 wheels off course on the horseshoe. Gushi makes it to the Top 16.

Forsberg vs Martinez – Forsberg has a good run, while the rookie Martinez struggles to keep up and keep a clean line on the first run. Forsberg chases and Martinez has a better run, but Forsberg is right there with him. Forsberg advances.

S. Hubinette vs. D. VanDenBrink – Sam leads and Doug chases. Sam keeps a solid line and Doug does his best to keep up with the Challenger on the first run. Doug leads and Sam keeps on his door even while Doug corrects on the first sweeper. Sam Hubinette moves on.

Yoshihara vs Whiddett – Yoshihara leads and Whiddett chases and straightens up on the first run on the horseshoe. Whiddett leads and Yoshihara chases through the horseshoe as Whiddett goes off course. Yoshihara maintains his door to door chase even as Whiddett loses his bumper. Yoshihara gets the win.

Mordaunt vs McQuarrie – Mordaunt leads and McQuarrie chases and loses his angle and straightens up in the horseshoe giving the advantage to Mordaunt. Good 2nd run by both drivers. McQuarrie can’t overcome the mistake from the first run and Mordaunt moves on to the Top 16.

Millen vs Parkhouse – Millen leads and Parkhouse chases behind the past champion. Parkhouse has difficulties chasing the Genesis Coupe in the first run. Parkhouse with a good first half of the 2nd run, but then spins in the horseshoe against Millen. Millen gets the win.

McNamara vs Aono – McNamara leads with his V8 powered Saturn Sky while the AE86 Corolla piloted by Aono chases. McNamara creates a large gap between the 2 cars in the first run. Aono leads and spins on the first turn giving the win to McNamara.

Tuerck vs Mertzanis – Tuerck leads and keeps a solid run, while Mertzanis creating a large gap. Tuerck was a little off the first clipping point on that first run. Standard second run from both drivers, but Tuerck pushes through and moves on.

Mohan vs Petty – Mohan leads and Petty chases and stays door to door through the horseshoe. Great first run! Petty leads and Mohan chases. Petty creates a gap between the two cars through the 2nd run. Petty gets the win.

Gittin vs Takatori – Gittin leads and creates a gap through the course against Takatori. Both had a clean run. Takatori leads and Gittin chases closely. Gittin applies pressure and sticks to Takatori’s bumper. Gittin advances.

Maeng vs Kearney – Maeng leads and Kearney chases closely but straightens up on the clipping point on the first run. We are hearing in the judging tower that Kearney has broken an axel. Maeng automatically advances.

Grunewald vs Wang – Grunewald leads and Wang chases. Grunewald lays down a lot of smoke and Wang chases through and has a small correction. Wang leads the second run and Grunewald follows and catches up and shadows the lead car. Grunewald gets the win from the judges.

Miki vs Pawlak – Miki leads and Pawlak chases very close behind. Miki has great angle and Pawlak does a good job sticking close to the RX8. Pawlak leads on the 2nd run and Miki chases. Good run by both drivers. The judges check the replay before making a decision. Pawlak gets the win.

Essa vs Verdier – Essa leads and Verdier chases. Clean run by both. Verdier leads and Essa chases…mistake from Verdier. Essa gets the win in the BMW.

Nishida vs Powers – Nishida leads and Powers chases the GTR. Clean run. Powers leads and creates a little gap. Both transition cleanly through the horseshoe and Powers loses his rear bumper on the last turn. Each judge says something different and it goes to the first One More Time of the evening.

Nishida leads the first OMT run and Powers maintains a close chase. Powers leads and Nishida chases. Both have a clean run and Powers has a shallow line. Nishida moves on to the Top 16.

We will have a short half-time break before opening ceremonies and the Top 16 competition. We come back at 7PM (eastern standard time).

Round 2: Road to the Championship Qualifying Results

Posted on

Top 32 Qualifying – Round 2: Road to the Championship

Driver: Car #: Score:
1 T. Foust #34 34 92.8
2 R. Tuerck #44 44 91.7
3 C. Grunewald #79 79 89.5
4 D. Yoshihara #9 9 89.4
5 R. Millen #6 6 87.6
6 M. Essa #101 101 87.1
7 V. Gittin #25 25 86.9
8 C. Forsberg #64 64 84.4
9 S. Hubinette #77 77 83.7
10 J. Maeng #51 51 83.5
11 R. Nishida #31 31 82.6
12 D. McNamara #8 8 82.4
13 P. Mordaunt #90 90 80.1
14 R. Miki #26 26 79
15 K. Mohan #99 99 78.6
16 C. Ng #84 84 76.3
17 K. Gushi #33 33 74.8
18 R. Petty #808 808 72.6
19 J. Pawlak #13 13 70.5
20 T. McQuarrie #17 17 69.6
21 T. Aono #86 86 69.6
22 M. Powers #665 665 69.3
23 D. Kearney #43 43 68.8
24 D. VanDenBrink #19 19 68.4
25 C. Martinez #951 951 68.4
26 M. Takatori #5 5 66.9
27 S. Verdier #12 12 65.8
28 C. Parkhouse #562 562 65.7
29 M. Whiddett #111 111 64.9
30 F. Wang #30 30 63.3
31 D. Mertzanis #323 323 62
32 M. Waldin #23 23 59.5