Posted on

The first leg of Formula D Japan was held during the Japan Motor Games last July 6 to 7 together with the World Time Attack Challenge. The event had familiar drivers/tuners from the Japanese community as well as visitors and competitors from all around the world. I will split my coverage into several parts to take a closer look on some builds. Enjoy.

This 86 was on display for Work Wheels Japan, it was build by Dream Garage for Daisuke Miyazaki and it had an LS1 from a C5 Vette. It also sports a custom kit from TRA-Kyoto and Work DR9′s.

The car started as a base model ZN6, the unpainted body parts just adds character.

Continue reading [COVERAGE] THE CARS OF FORMULA D JAPAN by Fatlace

Formula DRIFT Japan Results

Posted on

Formula DRIFT Japan Results;
Masao Suenaga Takes Event Victory


Long Beach, Calif. – July 10, 2014 – Formula DRIFT entered Fuji Speedway for the first Formula DRIFT Japan event for Round 2 of the Formula DRIFT Asia Championship. Japan’s own Masao Suenaga takes the inaugural event victory.

Formula DRIFT continued global expansion into the land of the rising sun holding the first ever Formula DRIFT Japan event at Fuji Speedway this past weekend. The event embarks on a three-year deal between the Series and MSC Co, Ltd.

The event had sixty-nine entries in which fourteen of those were Formula DRIFT Asia regulars. Six of the fourteen finished in the Top 16. Participating drivers represented eight countries.

“In 2003, I was here to announce that professional drifting was venturing outside of Japan for the first time,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “Today, we came back to the birthplace of this sport to stage the first ever Formula DRIFT competition. To top it all off, the competition was awesome!”

Formula DRIFT featured ancillary events including: the Offset Kings car show, World Time Attack exhibition, Mazda Fest, 180 & Silvia Meet, FMX demos and Supermoto racing. Over 150,000 viewers watched the event worldwide via the Driftstream.

Formula DRIFT Results:

Winner = Masao Suenaga
2nd Place = Masashi Yokoi
3rd Place = Fredric Aasbo

The 2014 Formula DRIFT Championship season continues to Round 5: Throwdown at Evergreen Speedway on July 18-19. For more information visit: www.formuladrift.com and find Formula DRIFT on Instagram @formulad, Facebook www.facebook.com/formuladrift and Twitter @FormulaD.

Formula DRIFT ASIA Round 2 – Fuji Speedway, Japan Livestream Scheduled Times

Posted on

FD-RD2JAPAN-Watch-LiveFormula DRIFT ASIA Round 2 – Fuji Speedway, Japan Livestream Scheduled Times and the official hashtags for the weekend are #formulad #formuladrift #FDJAPAN

Saturday, July 5, 2014 – Practice / Qualifying

8:10 AM – 9:40 AM – Open Practice: 3 Groups (30 min practice for each group)
9:45 AM – 12:00 PM – Qualifying First Run (3 Groups 45 min each group)
2:30 PM – 4:45 PM – Qualifying Second Run (3 Groups 45 min each group)
9:45 AM – 4:45 PM – LIVE STREAM: PRO Live Stream Begins ( JAPAN STANDARD TIME) 

Sunday, July 6, 2014 – Main Event

8:10 AM – 5:00 PM – LIVE STREAM: PRO Live Stream Begins ( JAPAN STANDARD TIME) 
8:10 AM – 11:30 AM – MAIN COMPETITION – Round of 32
2:00 PM  – 2:30 PM – National Anthem / Opening Ceremonies
2:30 PM– 5:00 PM – MAIN COMPETITION: Round of 16 to Finals
7:30 PM – 8:00 PM – Trophy Ceremony & Closing


Formula DRIFT ASIA Round 2 – Fuji Speedway | Motor Games Drivers List & Event Info

Posted on


Formula DRIFT ASIA Round 2 – Fuji Speedway | Motor Games | will host the inaugural event at Fuji Speedway which will also be part of the FD Asia Championship in July 5-6, 2014 and a second competition in December of 2014 at Okayama International Circuit.   Don’t miss out on an excitement filled weekend of drifting as well as the Fatlace Offset Kings Meet, Mazda Festival, Silvia & 180 Meeting, Super Moto, FMX, time attack and extreme stunt bikes.




Formula DRIFT ASIA Round 2 – Fuji Speedway | Motor Games Unofficial Drivers List

Shun Qi Liu
Zhuo Liu
Fredric Aasbo
Ng Sheng Nain
Chi Lun Tang
Daynom Templeman
Oat Krerpradab
Masao Suenaga
Saranon Pronpatanarak
S Chanatpon Kerdpiam
Emmanual Amandio
Robert Whyte
Muhammad Zaiham Hamdan
Wan Johan Rahim
Kazuto Ichiyanagi
Mike Whiddett
Yoshiaki waki
Michihiro Takatori
Kiyotaka Yamazaki
Masataka Kawashima
Manabu Fujinaka
Yuki Inaoka
Kunihiko Teramachi
Tsutomu Fujio Yuji Tanaka
Koji Yamaguchi
Kazuya Bai
Daisuke Hasegawa
Yoshifumi Tadokoro
Tadahiro Fukada
Ikuo Saito
Noritsugu Totani
Seimi Tanaka
Masashi Yokoi
Atsushi Taniguchi
Hirohide Tanaka
Daigo Saito
Yuichiro Takahashi
Nobuhisa Sone
Katsuhiro Ueo
Takeshi Mogi
Robbie Nishida
Toshimitsu Mauda
Mito Shinnosuke
Masaki Kasahara
Shinji Minowa
Kitashiba Tomoyuki
Kuroi Takamasa
Shinozaki Yoshinori
Iizuka Kazuya
Takahashi Kuniaki