Formula DRIFT Round 5: Throwdown Results

Posted on

Formula DRIFT Round 5: Throwdown Results;
Darren McNamara Takes the Victory


Long Beach, Calif. – July 19, 2014 – Formula DRIFT returned to Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, WA for Round 5: Throwdown. Darren McNamara in the Falken Tire Nissan S14 takes his first victory of the season.

Round 5: Throwdown held at Evergreen Speedway showcased intense competition throughout the weekend. The weather held up for the capacity crowd as they were entertained by the action on track, the open paddock and Offset Kings car show.

“The competition has tightened up with only two events remaining this season,” says Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “We can expect the final two rounds of the season to be as intense as ever. The drivers will be battling for every point possible.”

Number one qualifier, Darren McNamara faced fellow Irishman, Dean Kearney in the Oracle Lighting SRT Viper, in the finals. After a close battle, McNamara was able to take the win for his first victory of the season. This also marks the first podium in Kearney’s career. Rounding out the podium in third place was current point leader, Chris Forsberg, in the Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z, for his fifth consecutive podium of the season.

“It’s nice to be back. It’s been a rough year,” said Darren McNamara, winner of Round 5: Throwdown. “We’ve had a few things to overcome, but we’re here. It’s been a flawless weekend and it’s hard to believe. I’m so happy, especially for the team.”

The 2014 Formula DRIFT Championship season continues to Round 6: Showdown at Texas Motor Speedway on September 12-13. For more information visit: and find Formula DRIFT on Instagram @formulad, Facebook and Twitter @FormulaD.

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship Presented by GoPro 2014 Standings After Five Rounds
1. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 421.50 Points
2. Aasbo, Fredric Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC 362.50 Points
3. Gittin Jr., Vaughn Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR 308.50 Points
4. Moen, Kenneth Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX 275.50 Points
5. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Nissan S14 263.00 Points
6. Bakchis, Aurimas Feal Suspension / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX 243.50 Points
7. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 226.00 Points
8. Kearney, Dean Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper SRT 215.50 Points
9. Nishida, Robbie Achilles Radial / Bridges Racing Lexus SC300 191.00 Points
10. Wang, Forrest Get Nuts Lab / Hankook Tire / STR Racing Nissan S14 183.50 Points
11. Grunewald, Conrad Megan Racing / Top 1 Oil / BRE Chevrolet Camaro 176.50 Points
12. Essa, Michael Essa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 164.50 Points
13. Tuerck, Ryan Retaks Maxxis Tires Air Force PSI Scion FR-S 162.00 Points
14. Gushi, Ken GReddy Performance X Scion Racing Drift FR-S 156.00 Points
15. McQuarrie, Tyler GoPro Mobil 1Chevrolet Camaro 153.50 Points
16. Field, Matt CX Racing / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX 153.00 Points

Round 5: Throwdown Event Results
1. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Nissan S14 Winner
2. Kearney, Dean Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper SRT 2nd Place
3. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 3rd Place

Manufacturers Championship Standings After Five Rounds
1. Scion 569.50 Points
2. Ford 534.50 Points
3. Nissan 529.50 Points
4. Chevy 330.00 Points
5. BMW 299.00 Points

Tire Championship Standings After Five Rounds
1. Hankook 784.00 Points
2. Nitto 613.00 Points
3. Achilles 574.00 Points
4. Falken 508.00 Points
5. Maxxis 246.50 Points

Vaughn Gittin Wins His Second Consecutive Event at Round 5: Throwdown

Posted on

Vaughn Gittin Wins His Second Consecutive Event at Round 5: Throwdown;
Takes The Lead in the Pro Championship Points Standings

Long Beach, Calif. – July 21, 2012 – Formula DRIFT returned to the Pacific Northwest at Evergreen Speedway for Round 5: Throwdown. Vaughn Gittin, Jr. in the Monster Energy / Falken Tire Ford Mustang takes his second consecutive victory and the lead in the Pro Championship Points Standings.

Round 5: Throwdown continued the success of the season to a capacity crowd at Evergreen Speedway. The Driftstream saw an estimated 175,000 viewers in a 24-hour period.

“This has been one of the most exciting events of the season,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “The chase for the championship heats up as we head into the final two events of the season and it is still anyone’s to take with only 62 points separating the top 5 drivers.”

The action on the track showcased the true competition of the Series with many close battles and upsets throughout the event. Ken Gushi in the Greddy Performance Scion FR-S faced Hankook teammate Rhys Millen in the RMR Hyundai Genesis Coupe in a very close battle. Millen took the victory for third place and his first podium appearance of the season. The Finals pitted Ryan Tuerck in the Retaks Nissan 240SX against Vaughn Gittin, Jr. After a tightly fought battle Gittin took the win and the lead in both the Pro Championship points standings and in the Triple Crown, while Tuerck moves up to fifth place overall.

“I am just so pumped right now. We have been working so hard and have overcome the minor issues we had earlier this year and I owe this to my team and all my partners,” said Vaughn Gittin, Jr., winner of Round 5: Throwdown. “It just feels so good to re-focus and drive my heart out and stand on top of the podium!”

The competition is as close as it has ever been with only two remaining events remaining and the championship still up for grabs. The Formula DRIFT Pro Championship Round 6: After Dark on August 24 – 25 at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway.