Formula DRIFT Texas 2017 by Super Street Magazine


Posted on


The 2017 Formula DRIFT pro championship is decided. Oh, we know there’s still one round left on the calendar, and Fredric Aasbo – 2015 champ and driver of the Rockstar Energy Corolla iM – is mathematically still breathing, even though at this point he’s a distant 96 points behind leader James Deane in the Worthouse Drift Team S15, and not very likely to catch him. It’s that last part we can’t reconcile, and anyone who wants to believe there’s still a chance for Deane to falter and Aasbo to somehow make a miracle happen – well, we hate to break it to you, but there’s no denying fate.

Formula DRIFT texas 2017 accel decel mapPhoto 2/161   |   Formula DRIFT Texas 2017 Accel Decel Map

It looked a tad bit more possible going into Round 7 of 8, set on a section of the infield road course at Texas Motor Speedway; then, Deane was only 57 markers out of reach, and with a lucky break (heck, Aasbo even had a chance to eliminate Deane!) this story might be different. But as he has in the last two rounds—Montreal and Seattle—Deane qualified number one, and again looked unbeatable.