Formula DRIFT Announces 2015 World Championship Details; $300,000 Prize Purse Up for Grabs

Posted on




For Immediate Release

November 4, 2014

Formula DRIFT Announces 2015 World Championship Details;
$300,000 Prize Purse Up for Grabs

Long Beach, Calif. – November 4, 2014 – Formula DRIFT has announced the 2015 World Championship schedule. Ten rounds of competition will consist of seven US Pro Championship rounds and three International rounds of competition beginning in March. In addition, drivers will now be competing for a total prize purse of up to $300,000 that will include the championship earnings, per round earnings, and new $100,000 Triple Crown bonus.

Entering its twelfth year of competition, Formula DRIFT will be the first professional drifting series to hold a true world championship. The world championship will consist of seven Pro Championship rounds in the United States and three international rounds of competition. Japan, Canada, and China will host the international events. All ten competition round points earned will go towards the inaugural World Championship.

“After 11 seasons of Formula DRIFT, we are excited to launch the World Championship,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “There is a ton of anticipation to take on this new challenge and raise the global standard for drifting by continuing to grow the Series domestically and internationally. We are here for the long run and thus laying this foundation for the future growth of drifting.”

All current Formula DRIFT Pro licenses holders are eligible to compete and aggregate points toward the World Championship. However, to be eligible to aggregate points toward the overall World Championship, drivers must attend at least one non-domestic US round. Additionally, each individual event round winner plus the top eight drivers in the series following the conclusion of the event in Montreal, Canada will qualify for a vehicle transportation and subsidy to the final round of the overall World Championship in China, where the World Champion will be crowned.

The Formula DRIFT Pro Championship will continue with seven rounds of competition with a champion to be crowned at the Irwindale event in October. The Pro 2 Series will also continue in 2015 within four of the seven US rounds of competition with events in Orlando, FL, Seattle, WA, Fort Worth, TX, and Irwindale, CA. Each of the ten rounds of the World Championship will be live streamed globally.

Drivers will now compete for a prize purse of up to $300,000 that includes championship, per round, and the new triple crown bonus. The triple crown bonus of $100,000 will be awarded to the driver that can win at three select rounds of competition within the World Championship. These rounds of competition will be announced soon. For more information visit: and find Formula DRIFT on Instagram @formulad, Facebook and Twitter @FormulaDrift.

2015 Formula DRIFT World Championship Schedule

April 10-11, 2015         Streets of Long Beach, USA              World / Pro
April 17-19, 2015         Streets of Long Beach, USA              Invitational Event
May 8-9, 2015              Road Atlanta, USA                          World / Pro
June 5-6, 2015             Orlando Speedworld, USA                World / Pro / Pro2
June 26-27, 2015         Wall Stadium, USA                           World / Pro
July 11-12, 2015           Fuji Speedway, JAPAN                     World
July 24-25, 2015           Evergreen Speedway, USA               World / Pro / Pro2
August 21-22, 2015      Texas Motor Speedway, USA             World / Pro / Pro2
September 6-7, 2015    Autodrome St. Eustache, CANADA     World
October 9-10, 2015       Irwindale Speedway, USA                 World / Pro / Pro2
November, 2015           CHINA                                             World

*schedule subject to change


Entering its twelfth season, Formula DRIFT is recognized as the leading international drifting championship. Established on the streets of Japan, drifting has evolved into a worldwide competitive sport that challenges each driver’s driving ability and vehicle control. Formula DRIFT provides a forum for professional drifters to compete nationwide for the coveted Formula DRIFT Championship crown. As the first official series in North America, Formula DRIFT has taken competitive motorsports to the extreme, attracting fans and car enthusiasts from all walks of life and establishes itself as the world-wide leader for the Sport. For a competition schedule and ticket information, visit:

2014 Formula DRIFT Banquet Awards

Posted on
– 1st Place: Dan Savage

– 2nd Place: Geoff Stoneback

– 3rd Place: Jeremy Lowe

– PRO2 Comeback of the Year (how you qualifying to how you finish; biggest jump): Jeremy Lowe – 14th to finish 4th at Round 1: Miami Heat

– PRO2 Top Qualifier of the Year (highest qualifying percentage): Dan Savage – Average qualification of 3rd

– PRO2 Ace of the Year (most head to head wins): TIED Geoff Stoneback & Dan Savage – 8 wins in 11 matches

– PRO2 Top Gun Driver of the Year (highest head to head win percentage): Brandon Wicknick – 85.71%, 6 wins in 7 matches

– Best Drifting Style: Forrest Wang

– Best Personal Style: Ryan Tuerck

– Crew Member of the Year: Brian Wilkerson

– Team Manager of the Year: Stephen Papadakis

– Spirit of Drifting: Forrest Wang

– Hardest Charging Driver of the Year: Chelsea DeNofa

2014 FORMULA DRIFT PRO CHAMPIONSHIP (Voted on by almost 10,000 fans)
– Fan Favorite Driver of the Year: Fredric Aasbo

– Fan Favorite Car of the Year: Forrest Wang

– Comeback of the Year (qualifying rank to finishing position; biggest jump): Daigo Saito – Qualified 29th to 1st Place Win at Round 7: Final Fight

– Most Improved Driver of the Year (2013 ranking to 2014 ranking): Dean Kearney – 29th in 2013 to 8th in 2014

– Top Qualifier of the Year (highest qualifying percentage): Chris Forsberg – 3.7 average

– Ace of the Year (most head to head wins): Fredric Aasbo – 25 wins of 30 matches

– Top Gun Driver of the Year (highest head to head win percentage): Fredric Aasbo – 83%

– Rookie of the Year: Geoff Stoneback




EXEDY CLUTCH CONTINGENCY: $10,780 Vaughn Gittin Jr. / $4,620 Kyle Mohan

2015 Formula DRIFT Licensed Drivers

Posted on


Newly Licensed via PRO2 Series

1. Dan Savage (286.5 points)

2. Geoff Stoneback (281 points)

3. Jeremy Lowe (259 points)

4. Jeff Jones (246 points)

5. James Evans (226 points)

6. Nate Hamilton (220 points)

7. Matt Coffman (182 points)

8. Brandon Wicknick (173 points)


PRO Drivers who retained PRO License

1. Chris Forsberg (561.5 points)

2. Fredric Aasbo (550 points)

3. Vaughn Gittin Jr. (393 points)

4. Aurimas ‘Odi’ Bakchis (364.5 points)

5. Forrest Wang (331.5 points)

6. Kenneth Moen (310.5 points)

7. Darren McNamara (298 points)

8. Dean Kearney (287 points)

9. Justin Pawlak (277 points)

10. Conrad Grunewald (262.5 points)

11. Robbie Nishida (261 points)

12. Ryan Tuerck (235 points)

13. Ken Gushi (227.5 points)

14. Daigo Saito (224 points)

15. Matt Field (221.5 points)

16. Michael Essa (218.5 points)

17. Tyler McQuarrie (209 points)

18. Daijiro Yoshihara (197 points)

19. Kyle Mohan (176.5 points)

20. Patrick Goodin (176.5 points)

21. Chelsea DeNofa (172.5 points)

22. Charles Ng (154.5 points)

23. Jhonnattan Castro (143 points)

24. Geoff Stoneback (137 points)

25. Joon Maeng (134 points)

26. Marc Landreville (103.5 points)

27. Mats Baribeau (102 points)

28. Ryan Kado (87.5 points)

29. Dave Briggs (86 points)

30. Patrick Mordaunt (86 points)

31. Alec Hohnadell (71.5 points)

32. Jeff Jones (70 points)