Formula DRIFT RD4 Photo Contest


Posted on

As many of you have heard or seen or even been lucky enough to witness in person during the Round 4: All In event at Las Vegas Motor Speedway this past weekend during the tandem battle between Ryan Tuerck and Katsuhiro Ueo contact between the 2 cars was made and Tuerck’s Mobil 1 / Gardella Racing Pontiac Solstice performed now the infamous “bunny hop.” All 4 tires left the ground in dramatic fashion and Tuerck was able to continue on his way to battle it through the competition.

During the competition Formula DRIFT decided that a unique action sequence like this must of been captured with photo or video. An announcement was made by the voice of Formula D, Jarod DeAnda for all fans and media members that were able to capture this unique moment to submit the photo to Formula D for a chance to win a prize. The FD Twitter page also was going crazy with submissions and fans wanting to see more.

So due to popular demand here is the 1st Formula DRIFT Photo Contest. Formula DRIFT has teamed up with Fatlace F/Stop Channel to award 1 winner with a Fatlace Package. The winning submission will also be featured in an upcoming Formula DRIFT ad in Super Street, Modified, and Import Tuner. Submissions will be narrowed down and judged by Formula DRIFT official photographer and director of photography for Fatlace, J.Martinez.

For those that haven’t seen any footage here is a quick video submitted by a fan.

Here are the first round of submissions:

Submission #1 Clinton Lum –


More Photos after the jump
Continue reading Formula DRIFT RD4 Photo Contest

Formula DRIFT Round 4: All In Results


Posted on


For Immediate Release

July 12, 2009

Formula DRIFT Round 4: All In Results;
Tanner Foust Takes the Victory and Chris Forsberg Moves to Top Spot

Long Beach, Calif. – July 12, 2009 – Formula DRIFT returned to Las Vegas Motor Speedway for Round 4: All In. Champion Tanner Foust takes the victory in his Rockstar / Hankook Scion Racing tC, while Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy Drink / Maxxis Nissan 350Z moves to the top position overall in the chase for the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship.

For the 2nd consecutive year, Formula DRIFT returned to Las Vegas Motor Speedway. The 2-day weekend event was filled with non-stop Formula DRIFT and Pro Am action. Fans were also treated to the Jtuned Auto Gallery car show, Wicked H.P. drag competition, and Bikini Jam.

“Las Vegas continues to be one of the top destinations for the circuit despite the triple digit weather,” said Ryan Sage, vice president of marketing and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “The fans continue to come out in droves and we had another sold out event. The drivers continue to step up their level of drifting and we’re seeing a real chase for the Championship.”

Chris Forsberg took over the point lead after a close battle with Ryan Tuerck, who was ranked #2 going into the event, in the Great 8 round. Forsberg then went on to defeat Tyler McQuarrie, in the Falken Tire Nissan 350Z, in the consolation round for 3rd place. The final battle was between Hankook Tire teammates Tanner Foust and Ryuji Miki, piloting the APEXi / Hankook Mazda RX-7. Foust proved why he is the returning champion and blinded Miki in the first run with a cloud of thick smoke that caused Miki to lose his drift, while giving chase in their first tandem run giving Foust the advantage. With a solid 2nd run, Foust was able to sit on top of the podium once again.

“The Rockstar team and I went from zero to hero after failing to qualify for the main competition last event,” said Formula DRIFT champion Tanner Foust, winner of Round 4: All In. “I am so proud of my team and they worked hard to fix the issues of the Rockstar Scion tC and I now feel comfortable and feel that this car has more potential than the Nissan 350Z ever had.”

Formula DRIFT returns to Evergreen Speedway on August 8-9. Tickets are on-sale now.

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship 2009 Point Standings

1. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Maxxis Nissan 350Z 307 Points
2. Tuerck, Ryan Gardella Racing / Mobil 1Pontiac Solstice 294 Points
3. Hubinette, Samuel NuFormz Dodge Viper 271 Points
4. Gittin, Vaughn Falken Tire Ford Racing Mustang GT 265.50 Points
5. McQuarrie, Tyler Falken Nissan 350Z 265 Points
6. McNamara, Darren Falken / Sears Auto Center Saturn Sky 260 Points
7. Nishida, Robbie Hankook Tires / Dynamic Autosports Nissan 350Z 259 Points
8. Foust, Tanner Rockstar / Hankook Scion Racing tC 246.50 Points
9. Pawlak, Justin Bergenholtz Racing / Nitto Mazda RX-8 245 Points
10. Maeng, Joon Maxxis / LS Auto Nissan S13.5 227.25 Points
11. Aono, Taka Technosquare Toyota AE86 Corolla 223 Points
12. Mordaunt, Patrick PM Racing Nissan S13 220 Points
13. Brakohiapa, Tony Cooper Tire Ford Mustang 219 Points
14. Verdier, Stephan Cooper Tire / Crawford Performance Subaru STI 214 Points
15. Petty, Ross Garage Boso / Falken Nissan S15 212.75 Points
16. Yoshihara, Daijiro Falken Tire / Discount Tire Lexus IS350 208 Points

Round 4: All In Event Results

1. Foust, Tanner Rockstar / Hankook Scion Racing tC
2. Miki, Ryuji APEXi / Hankook Mazda RX-7
3. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Maxxis Nissan 350Z Triple Crown Point Standings after 1 of 3 events

1. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Maxxis Nissan 350Z 102 Points
2. McNamara, Darren Falken / Sears Auto Center Saturn Sky 94 Points
3. Tuerck, Ryan Gardella Racing / Mobil 1 Pontiac Solstice 80 Points

Full official standings available on:

Round 4: All In Qualifying Results


Posted on

Congratulations to Robbie Nishida for Qualifying 1st.


Driver: Car #: Score:
1 R. Nishida 31 96
2 K. Ueo 15 95.4
3 J. Pawlak 13 95.1
4 M. Haraguchi 326 91.6
5 D. Yoshihara 9 89.7
6 S. Hubinette 77 88.5
7 C. Rydquist 46 87.5
8 S. Verdier 12 85
9 M. Essa 101 83.5
10 C. Forsberg 64 82
11 T. Suell 777 81.2
12 K. Mohan 99 80.7
13 E. O’Sullivan 35 79
14 K. Yamanaka 7 78.9
15 R. Tuerck 44 76.6
16 K. Gushi 5 74.1
17 T. McQuarrie 17 73.5
18 T. Aono 86 71.3
19 V. Gittin 25 71
20 T. Foust 1 70.8
21 P. Mordaunt 90 68.9
22 R. Miki 26 67
23 B. Sherman 22 64.8
24 Y. Kondo 52 62.5
25 R. Petty 808 62.2
26 M. Takatori 23 60
27 A. Pfeiffer 88 59.8
28 K. Hayashida 33 59.2
29 J. Maeng 51 57.8
30 T. Brakohiapa 18 55.7
31 M. Powers 32 52.7
32 C. Canul 30 46.5
33 J. Jones 29 38.3
34 D. McNamara 8 38
35 J. LeJeune 333 27.4
36 R. Ewerth 27 24.3
37 R. Millen 6 21
38 C. Parkhouse 562 0
39 G. Lang 68 0
40 C. Kregorian 14 0
41 C. Wan 3 0

Notable notes…point leader Darren McNamara fails to make it into Top 32 competition due to car problems in his Saturn Sky and trying to qualify in teammate Calvin Wan’s Nissan S15. Rhys Millen also fails to qualify into the Top 32.