Schedule Change for the Pro Am Championship


Posted on

Formula DRIFT Announces Schedule Change for the Pro Am National Championship;
Event will now be held on November 21 at the Toyota Speedway at Irwindale

Long Beach, Calif. – October 1, 2009 – Formula DRIFT has announced a schedule and venue change for the 2009 Pro Am National Championship. The event will now take place on November 21 at the Toyota Speedway at Irwindale.

The top amateur drivers from the United States and Canada will meet at the infamous “House of Drift,” at the Toyota Speedway at Irwindale. This will be the first time that a Pro Am competition of this level will take place at this location. The rising stars of drifting will be discovered and compete for their chance to earn a Formula DRIFT Pro Championship license. Current professional drivers that made their way up through the Pro Am circuit include Justin Pawlak, Ryan Tuerck, Joon Maeng, and Matt Powers.

“Bringing the FD Pro Am National Championship to Irwindale is not only very cool, but very symbolic as well,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “Never has a Pro Am competition of this magnitude and importance been held at Irwindale before. And to top it off Irwindale is the birthplace of American professional drifting, back in 2003 when Ryan and I brought D1 outside of Japan for the first time.”

Tickets for the Pro Am National Championship will go on sale on October 17, the same day as Round 7: Judgment Day the final event of the 6th season of the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship. Online tickets can be purchased on the Formula DRIFT website. For more information, visit:

Formula DRIFT Pro AM National Championship Invited Drivers List
Driver Name / Series Qualified From

Brian Peter Formula DRIFT Atlanta
Dan Willie Formula DRIFT Atlanta
Jason Jiovani Formula DRIFT Atlanta
Tom Barnhart Formula DRIFT Atlanta
Forrest Wang Formula DRIFT Las Vegas
Johnny Kanavas Formula DRIFT Las Vegas
Roland Gallagher Formula DRIFT Las Vegas
Andrew Coomes Formula DRIFT Las Vegas
Cyrus Martinez Formula DRIFT Seattle
Victor Moore Formula DRIFT Seattle
Ian Fournier Formula DRIFT Seattle
Trent Stromkins Formula DRIFT Seattle
Kohei Nakamura DMCC West
Chris Scremin DMCC West
Robert Parsons DMCC West
David Briggs DMCC East
Ryan Lanteigne DMCC East
Claude Poirier DMCC East
Russell Walker HIN Texas
Ameen Rizvi HIN Texas
Gary James HIN Florida
Charlie Thompson HIN Florida
Derek King HIN Chicago
Mike Pollard HIN Chicago
John Johnson HIN Chicago

Note: In addition to the listed drivers, all current Formula DRIFT Pro License holders that do not meet the minimum points for automatic renewal will be invited to this competition. Alternates and additional drivers will be added to the list pending the results of upcoming Pro Am events.