Red Bull Drifting World Championship

Posted on

Formula DRIFT Announces Red Bull Drifting World Championship;

World’s Best Drifters to Compete for Largest Drifting Prize Purse

LONG BEACH, Calif. – July 11, 2008 – Formula DRIFT, North America’s premier drifting Sanctioning Body, has partnered with Red Bull Energy Drink, the world’s leading energy drink, to create one of the world’s most anticipated drifting events ever – the Red Bull Drifting World Championship. The event, which will feature 32 of the world’s best drifters, will be held on the docks at the Port of Long Beach, Calif., on Saturday, November 15, 2008.

The Red Bull Drifting World Championship will bring the best drifting drivers in the world together to compete in a single historic event. Drivers from the United States, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe and Canada will participate, but only one will claim the title of Red Bull Drifting World Champion. Current and past champions from the world’s top professional drifting series will receive an exclusive invitation to showcase their skills and compete for the largest drifting prize purse ever offered.

“Formula DRIFT has worked over the last five years to bring the drifting world closer together via our partnered events in Singapore and Mexico as well as our open door/open dialogue with the top professional drifting leagues from each corner of the world. We are excited to be able to team up with Red Bull to bring the world together and stage the toughest competition with the best drivers,” stated Jim Liaw, President/Co-Founder of Formula DRIFT.

The purpose-built course will include unprecedented features that will test the limits of the drivers and their cars such as a long straight to ensure triple-digit entry speeds, a big, sweeping first turn for high-speed drifting and multiple, technically challenging turns. Trackside viewing areas will allow spectators to get up close and personal with the competition.

“It is an exciting time for the sport of drifting. Red Bull is the leader for innovative sporting events worldwide and now drivers will be challenged like never before in a completely different environment than we’re used to,” said Rhys Millen, 2005 Formula DRIFT champion. “I’m proud to be flying the Red Bull colors heading into the Red Bull Drifting World Championship.”

Formula DRIFT, North America’s professional drifting championship series, will play the role of organizer, co-promoter, and sanctioning body for the World Championship event. Judging will be based on current Formula DRIFT rules and regulations with the possible addition of two international judges.

More information will be disclosed at a later date including brand and media partners and participating drivers.

Red Bull Drifting World Championship

RD4 Top 16 Head to Head Bracket

Posted on

Top 16

T. Foust vs R. Nishida – Winner – Nishida

D. Yoshihara vs. C. Forsberg – Winner – Yoshihara

M. Takatori vs. C. Wan – Winner – Takatori

J. Russakoff vs. T. Brakohiapa – Winner – Brakohiapa

S. Hubinette vs. R. Tuerck – Winner – Hubinette

M. Orido vs. Y. Kondo – Winner – Orido

R. Millen vs. K. Gushi – Winner – Millen

T. Yoshioka vs. S. Verdier – Winner – Yoshioka


Nishida vs. Yoshihara – Winner – Yoshihara

Takatori vs. Brakohiapa – Winner – Takatori

Hubinette vs. Orido – Winner – Hubinette

Millen vs. Yoshioka – Winner – Yoshioka


Yoshihara vs. Takatori – Winner – Yoshihara

Hubinette vs. Yoshioka – Winner – Yoshioka


Takatori vs. Hubinette – Winner – Hubinette


Yoshioka vs. Yoshihara – Winner – Yoshioka


1. Yoshioka

2. Yoshihara

3. Hubinette

Round 4: High Stakes TOP 16

Posted on

Here is the Top 16 for tonight’s main competition:

1. T. Foust

2. S. Hubinette

3. R. Millen

4. M. Takatori

5. J. Russakoff

6. T. Yoshioka

7. M. Orido

8. D. Yoshihara

9. C. Forsberg

10. Y. Kondo

11. S. Verdier

12. T. Brakiohapa

13. C. Wan

14. K. Gushi

15. R. Tuerck

16. R. Nishida

#1 Qualifier – Tanner Foust

Be sure to stay tuned for Results and all the latest news from the Las Vegas Motor Speedway!

RD4 Non-Seeded Qualifying Results

Posted on

Qualifying for Round 4: High Stakes Non-Seeded Drivers

1. R. Nishida – 94.42

2. K. Gushi – 93.67

3. M. Orido – 92.75

4. J. Pawlak – 89.58

5. T. Yoshioka – 89.00

6. Y. Kondo – 88.50

7. J. Russakoff – 88.00

8. T. Aono – 87.67

9. T. Angelo – 87.42

10. H. Sumida – 87.08

11. C. Wan – 86.67

12. J. Maeng – 83.67

13. Q. Ly – 82.33

14. T. Suell – 77.92

15. JT Wharerau – 76.67

16. T. Brakohiapa – 76.08

The fastest entry speed goes to the #1 qualifier Robbie Nishida with a speed of 98.3 mph.