Moments In Time: Formula Drift Texas by Larry Chen

Posted on

You Speedhunters out there can get a pretty good idea of what actually happened at Formula Drift Texas from watching the live stream, or afterwards on demand. However, there is only so much you can experience unless you’re actually there on the ground. Here are 50 moments in time that I captured from the ‘One More Time Fest’ in Texas.

Above: Due to the 10 OMT battles, Formula Drift Texas had the longest Top 16 in the history of the series. Although it did provide for some epic battles, including Ken Gushi chasing down ‘Fast Kenny’ Moen.


Tandem donuts never looked so good. Fredric told me he thinks the drivers have grown up a bit as they have stopped doing so many donuts during the Top 16 introductions. The reason? They want to save their cars for the competition.

Continue reading Moments In Time: Formula Drift Texas by Larry Chen


Posted on


When they say everything is bigger in Texas, they mean it and that includes the epic battles of Formula Drift Round 6: SHOWDOWN in Texas.  With all said and done, we are proud to announce that Yokohama Tire’s Masashi Yokoi & his S15 Silvia took the round by surprise.  All season long, the rookie has shown much potential he has with aggressive angles, battles, and true Japanese fighting spirit. In Texas he finally rose to the occasion locking in his first ever Formula Drift win!


2015 Formula Drift Texas By Front Street

Posted on

The phrase, “Everything is bigger in Texas” is a fitting description for many aspects of Texan culture. Hosting 9 “One more time” rulings, the Top 16 competition at the 6th round of the Formula Drift championship was no different.


Continue reading 2015 Formula Drift Texas By Front Street

Yokoi Wins The OMT-Fest At FD Texas

Posted on



After what was perhaps the longest Formula Drift Top 16 on record – a total of nine One More Time calls pushing the battles out to nearly four hours – Masashi Yokoi has taken the top podium spot at Texas Motor Speedway behind the wheel of his 2JZ-powered D-MAX S15 Silvia.

Continue reading Yokoi Wins The OMT-Fest At FD Texas

Formula DRIFT Round 6: Showdown Results

Posted on

Formula DRIFT Round 6: Showdown Results;
Rookie Masashi Yokoi is Victorious


Long Beach, Calif. – August 23, 2015 – Formula DRIFT presented by GoPro returned to Texas Motor Speedway for Round 6: Showdown. Japanese rookie Masashi Yokoi in the D-MAX Nissan S15 earns his first Formula DRIFT victory. The championship will be determined at the Series finale on October 10.

Round 6: Showdown was an action packed event weekend. The new course configuration at Texas Motor Speedway proved to be challenging and highly competitive for the drivers. With only one event remaining in the 2015 season a champion will be crowned at the season finale at Irwindale Speedway.  Over 400,000 fans tuned in live throughout the event weekend on the Driftstream.

“Texas has some of the most diehard fans as they braved the heat to see the action through the weekend and were rewarded with intense drifting action,” said Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “With only one event remaining, the season will come to climatic conclusion to end a remarkable year.”

Points leader and number one qualifier, Fredric Aasbo lost in the Great 8 opening the chase for the championship up to the rest of the field. Aasbo will head into the championship with a considerable lead of 80 points. The semi-finals had Daigo Saito in the Achilles Radial Nissan GT-R face against his close friend Ken Gushi in the GReddy Performance / Hankook Tire Scion FR-S. Gushi was able to outdrive his opponent on his way to his third podium of the season. Yokoi battled Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z. Yokoi beat the former champion to head into the Finals. The Finals were close with the rookie Yokoi being awarded the win by the judges for his first podium and victory in Formula DRIFT. Gushi’s second place finish moves him into second place overall.

“I wanted to come out and show the Japanese style of driving and really worked hard in the tandem battles,” said Masashi Yokoi, winner of Round 6: Showdown. “In the end I wasn’t able to show everything that I wanted, but I’m really happy to get the victory.”

The 2015 Formula DRIFT Pro Championship season will conclude at Round 7: Final Fight at Irwindale Speedway on October 9-10. For more information visit: and find Formula DRIFT on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. Tune into Formula DRIFT on CBS Sports and check your local listings for airtimes.

Round 6: Showdown Event Results
1. Yokoi, Masashi D-Max Nissan S15 Silvia Winner
2. Gushi, Ken GReddy Racing / Hankook Tire Scion Racing FR-S 2nd Place
3. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 3rd Place
4. Saito, Daigo Achilles Radial Nissan GT-R 4th Place
5. Aasbo, Fredric Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Scion tC 5th Place
6. Moen, Kenny Bridges Racing / Achilles / Gatebil Nissan S14 6th Place
7. Hohnadell, Alec 11 Racing Nissan S14 7th Place
8. Yoshihara, Dai Falken Tire / Turn 14 Distribution Subaru BRZ 8th Place
9. Whiddett, Mike RedBull / Mobil 1 Mazda “Radbul” 9th Place
10. Tuerck, Ryan Ryan Tuerck Racing / Retaks / Maxxis Scion FR-S 10th Place
11. Wang, Forrest Get Nuts Lab Nissan S15 11th Place
12. Kearney, Dean Oracle Lighting / Achilles Motorsports Dodge Viper 12th Place
13. Bluss, Kristaps HGK Motorsport BMW 3 Series 13th Place
14. Evans, James SIKKY Racing Nissan 350Z 14th Place
15. Ng, Charles Maxxis / / Speedhunters Infiniti G37 15th Place
16. Castro, Jhonnattan E3 / Hankook / Progresso Nissan 350Z 16th Place
2015 Formula DRIFT Championship Presented by GoPro Top 3 Standings After Six Rounds
1. Aasbo, Fredric Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Scion tC 428.00 Points
2. Gushi, Ken GReddy Racing / Hankook Tire Scion Racing FR-S 348.00 Points
3. Tuerck, Ryan Ryan Tuerck Racing / Retaks / Maxxis Scion FR-S 332.00 Points
Manufacturers Championship Standings After Six Rounds
1. Scion 924.00 Points
2. Nissan 555.00 Points
3. Ford 447.00 Points
4. Chevrolet 337.00 Points
5. Mazda 248.00 Points
6. Infiniti 211.00 Points
7. Dodge 204.00 Points
8. BMW 157.00 Points
9. Toyota 123.00 Points
Tire Championship Standings After Six Rounds
1. Hankook 905.00 Points
2. Achilles 643.00 Points
3. Nitto 570.00 Points
4. Yokohama 569.00 Points
5. Falken 557.00 Points
6. Maxxis 470.00 Points
7. GT Radial 302.00 Points