Formula DRIFT 2015 Round 1: Streets of Long Beach Results


Posted on

Formula DRIFT 2015 Round 1: Streets of Long Beach Results

Formula Drift Round 1 Podium Long Beach

Long Beach, Calif. – April 12, 2015 – Formula DRIFT presented by GoPro kicked-off the first event of the 2015 World Championship season with Round 1: Streets of Long Beach to a sold out crowd. Fredric Aasbo in the Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC takes the victory and the lead in the chase for the championship.

Round 1: Streets of Long Beach started off the twelfth season of Formula DRIFT to a sell out crowd. Over 20,000 fans experienced the action and excitement at the Streets of Long Beach Grand Prix Street Course through the weekend. The Dailymotion Livestream partnership saw over 300,000 unique viewers watch the Driftstream over the event weekend.

“The season kicked off in fantastic fashion,” says Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “Each year I’m amazed at the diversity and growth of the Series in more intense competition. We had seven different tire manufacturers competing, nine vehicle manufacturers, various corporate brands, and eight past champions including the return of the only back-to-back champion Tanner Foust in the competition.”

After coming a few points short of his first title last season, Fredric Aasbo, kept the momentum that he gained through the second half of the 2014 season going and took the top spot on the podium after a few close battles. Ryan Tuerck in the Ryan Tuerck Racing / Retaks / Maxxis Tires Scion FR-S was unable to make the necessary mechanical change within the five minute allotment which forced him out of the competition to land in third place. The final battle saw Aasbo and Aurimas Bakchis in the Feal Suspension / ARK Performance / Nitto Tire Hyundai Genesis Coupe. Aasbo edged out Bakchis to take the event victory.

“This is exactly how we want to start the season,” said Fredric Aasbo, winner of Round 1: Streets of Long Beach. “With a win here in Long Beach we are leading the World Championship and the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship. This being the hometown of Rockstar Energy, Scion, and Hankook it couldn’t have been any better.”

For more information visit: and find Formula DRIFT on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.

Round 1: Streets of Long Beach Event Results

1. Aasbo, Fredric Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC Winner
2. Bakchis, Aurimas Feal Suspension / ARK Performance / Nitto Hyundai Genesis 2nd Place
3. Tuerck, Ryan Ryan Tuerck Racing / Retaks / Maxxis Tires Scion FR-S 3rd Place
4. Field, Matt CX Racing / Yokohama Tire Nissan S14 4th Place Place
5. Gittin, Vaughn Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR 5th Place
6. McQuarrie, Tyler GoPro Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro 6th Place
7. Nishida, Robbie Achilles Radial Lexus SC300 7th Place
8. Mordaunt, Patrick Nissan 350Z 8th Place
9. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 9th Place
10. Pawlak, Justin Roush Performance Car Crafters Ford Mustang 10th Place
11. Yoshihara, Dai Falken Tire / Turn 14 Distribution Subaru BRZ 11th Place
12. Savage, Dan SIKKY Racing Mazda RX-8 12th Place
13. Stoneback, Geoff Achilles Radial / Parts Shop Max Nissan S14 13th Place
14. Ng, Charles Maxxis / Infiniti G37 14th Place
15. DeNofa, Chelsea BC Racing / Chelsea DeNofa Motorsports BMW 3 Series 15th Place
16. Coffman, Matt Coffman Racing Nissan S13 16th Place

2015 Formula DRIFT Championship Presented by GoPro Top 3 Standings After One Event

1. Aasbo, Fredric Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC 105.00 Points
2. Bakchis, Aurimas Feal Suspension / ARK Performance / Nitto Hyundai Genesis 83.00 Points
3. Tuerck, Ryan Ryan Tuerck Racing / Retaks / Maxxis Tires Scion FR-S 68.00 Points

Manufacturers Championship Standings After One Round

1. Scion 173.00 Points
2. Ford 88.00 Points
3. Chevrolet 69.00 Points
4. Nissan 57.00 Points
5. Toyota 51.00 Points
6. BMW 34.00 Points
7. Infiniti 34.00 Points
8. Dodge 18.00 Points
8. Mazda 18.00 Points

Tire Championship Standings After One Round

1. Hankook 143.00 Points
2. Nitto 135.00 Points
3. Maxxis 102.00 Points
4. Falken 101.00 Points
5. Yokohama 86.00 Points
5. Achilles 86.00 Points
7. GT Radial 52.00 Points

Aurimas Odi Bakchis Debuts 2014 Sponsors and Livery


Posted on


For immediate release (Ontario, CA) – Aurimas Bakchis (“Odi”) has announced new partnerships for the 2014 drifting season including the team title and tire sponsors.  This will be Bakchis’ fourth season competing in the Formula Drift USA series after finishing tenth overall in the 2013 season.   He will use his Nissan 240SX S14 chassis with a newly-built LS3 engine platform for 2014.

Feal Suspension, Inc. will be the title sponsor for 2014 and Bakchis will continue to utilize Feal 441 coilovers on the competition vehicle.  The company has been involved with Bakchis’ professional drift program since his rookie season in 2011.

Additionally, Nitto Tire U.S.A. Inc. will be the official tire sponsor for Bakchis’ upcoming season.  Bakchis has stated that he is excited to be a part of the Nitto Tire team which has been a well-known and successful tire program in the Formula Drift series.

The 2014 Formula Drift series kicks off in Long Beach, California on April 4-5 where the team will debut the updated vehicle set up.  With support from these new and continued partnerships including Torco Advanced Lubricants, 702, Clutch Masters, Dstroyr, EBC Brakes, CBM, Holley Performance, Hooker Headers, Nitrous Oxide Systems, Rola A/V, XXR Wheels, Weir Performance, McCune Deign & Mfg, Canton Racing, Extreme Dimensions, and Wisefab, the 2014 drift season promises to be exciting.  Bakchis looks forward to employing the valuable resources of his current partners and applying his knowledge gained over the past three years of competition. Additional information can be found at   

For more information and photos, click here.

Strong Start to 2012 Formula Drift Season for Driver Aurimas Bakchis


Posted on


For immediate release – The 2012 Formula Drift pro championship kicked off at Round 1 in Long Beach, California on April 6 and April 7 and proved to be a success for driver Aurimas Bakchis (Odi) and the Team M7 Japan Nexen Tire Nissan S14.  Bakchis placed 15th in Round 1, further demonstrating that his 2011 “Rookie of the Year” title was well deserved.

Entering the season as the driver for Team M7 Japan, Bakchis debuted a new motor for his Nissan 240SX S14 chassis, upgraded suspension, and a new look.  With a field of 60 drivers qualification scores were tight; Bakchis ranked 30th after Friday’s qualifying round and was paired with Vaughn Gittin Jr. for the Top 32 tandem competition.

Gittin straightened during the first run of the Top 32 tandem round and Bakchis then led a strong, aggressive run that moved Bakchis on to the Top 16 main event.  Bakchis was paired with Ken Gushi for the Top 16 tandem competition.  Gushi led the first run and then failed to follow Bakchis on the second run in what was determined to be a false start by Bakchis.  After an exciting lead run by Bakchis, Gushi moved on to the next round and Bakchis finished the event tied for 15th place with Toshiki Yoshioka.

Round 1 was both exciting and successful for Bakchis, providing a strong start to the 2012 season.  The season promises to be exciting for Bakchis and his team as they prepare to head to the east coast for the next three rounds of Formula Drift.  Bakchis will be completing the season with the help of sponsors including M7 Japan, Nexen Tires, Feal Suspension, 702 Graphics, Clutch Masters, Torco, Drive M7 Energy Drink, Dstroyr, Battle Version, Swift Springs, EBC Brakes, Top Line, XXR Wheels, Sikky Manufacturing, and CBM Motorsports.